Stages of Grief - Part 1

It is normal to experience a mixture of emotions and reactions when losing a job. First prepared by Elisabeth Kubler-Ross in her 1969 book “On Death and Dying”, the Kubler Ross model includes 5 stages people may experience at different times and in different ways:

Stage 1: Denial

The reaction one might have at this stage is a feeling that someone made a mistake. Protecting yourself by denying the loss has taken place. You might pretend it never happened and won’t tell anyone.

“No, no, someone screwed up. I am worth too much to fire”

Stage 2: Anger

When denial can’t continue, you might become angry at those individuals close to them. These being the organization, colleagues or a boss;

“I’ve given my life to the organization. How can they do this to me? This is so unfair, I work harder than my peers.”

For more information like this, consider joining the
Executive Career Academy, powered by Vlaad and Company. This program runs over 3 days and fully explores best-practice themes, methods, and initiatives to use when transitioning into a superior career stream, re-entering the market, or simply finding a better career.


Full List of Thoughts: